Keynote Speakers

Below are a few of the speakers scheduled for the 2021 BCBA Convention, with more to be announced.

Russell Laffitte

Russell Laffitte

2021 ICBA Vice Chairman

CEO, Palmetto State Bank, Hampton, S.C.

A fourth-generation community banker, Laffitte serves in many leadership roles at ICBA. He is a member of the ICBA Executive Committee and board of directors and is vice chairman of the Federal Delegate Board. He serves on ICBA’s Policy Development Committee and is Executive Committee liaison to the Safety and Soundness and Bank Education committees. Laffitte has previously served as chairman of ICBA’s Political Action Committee, ICBPAC.

Laffitte is also an active member of his community and serves as vice chairman on the Hampton County Disabilities and Special Needs board and is a member of the Hampton County Rotary. He is a current member and past chairman of the Independent Banks of South Carolina.

Charles Vice

Charles A. Vice

Commissioner, Department of Financial Institutions

Charles A. Vice was appointed commissioner of the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) in August 2008. As the commissioner of DFI, Vice has responsibility for the regulatory oversight of all Kentucky state-chartered financial institutions. Vice is currently serving on the National Association of State Credit Union Supervisors (NASCUS) Regulator Board. Vice also served as chair of the Conference of State Bank Supervisors, and he currently serves as the Chair of the CSBS Education Foundation. Prior to joining DFI, Vice was an employee of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
(FDIC) for 18 years.